Hidden Voices: African American Writers in Wisconsin

Hidden Voices graphicJoin three Madison-area African American writers - poet Fabu, novelist Sherry Lucille, and playwright and novelist Catrina Sparkman - as they disuss their writing in relation to the work of three African American literary giants who also lived and worked in Madison during the 20th century: novelist Jean Toomer, playwright Lorraine Hansberry, and poet Sarah Webster Fabio. Experience poetry, prose, and drama that will shed light on what it means to be African American in Wisconsin today, yesterday, and tomorrow through a multimedia presentation about the work and lives of these literary artists and their interpretations of race in Wisconsin.

 

2017
Sat, Apr 22, 2pm - Goodman South Madison Library
Sat, Jun 24, 2 pm - Hawthorne Library
Tues, Aug 8, 7pm - Verona Public Library
Tues, Sep 19, 6:30pm - E.D. Locke Public Library
Tues, Oct 24, 6pm - Meadowridge Library
Sat, Nov 4, 3pm - Madison's Central Library, Wisconsin Book Festival

2018

Sat, Jan 6, 2pm -Fitchburg Public Library
Sat, Jan 20, 1pm - Lakeview Library
Fri, Feb 2, 6:30pm - Alicia Ashman Library
Sat, Feb 3, 2pm - Waunakee Public Library
Sat, Feb 10, 10am - Deforest Public Library
Sat, Feb 24, 2pm - Pinney Library
Tues, Feb 27, 6:30pm - Middleton Public Library